Poets logo

What Do We Do

When Life Falls Through the Cracks

By Crystal Lynn SchumacherPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by Me. Pansies growing in a crack in my sidewalk.

What do we do when life falls through the cracks?

Do we get up and stumble around for a bit?

Do we decide to fall up, and back and forth again?

Who knows what I am referring to here?

And now?

Because one thing is for sure...

Nothing is certain.

Until it is.

And how do we know when something we want will be certain?

Especially if we are confused as to how to move forward?

Moving through a crack in the wall or life, it seems, is nearly impossible. Until it isn't.

And what does this all mean?

Absolutely nothing to you and me, if you do not see me. Right?

As long as you do not see me, standing here in a crack of my own misery, you would never know.

My life is one big slow turn of the wheel.

Or so it seems.

At times, I almost completely lost my ever-loving mind.

At other times, I nearly went blind from the lights of fortune and fame.

And yet, at other times, I completely lost all control of my ever-loving self.

Always returning back to calm, control and centeredness.

Can you relate?

Its like a never-ending play on words, life and mystery.

One thing always lead us to another thing.

One story, often leaves us feeling unsatisfied.

Always wanting more.

Always searching for the next best thing.

One thing is never enough it seems.

As in writing, over and over again, our dreams.

From seen to unseen, and back and forth again.

Being a writer is fun.

As Dr. Suess would say I am sure.

However, I am no Dr. Suess.

I am just me.

One cat.

One dog.

One girls dream.

Come true.

From long ago.

And who knew?

Not I says the fly.

Not I says the bee.

Not even a tree, or a few hundred million.

One.

Two.

Three.

Who be me?

Who be you?

Because if we can rhyme all day and night, then we must have one or two hundred billion stories inside.

Just waiting to be seen, witnessed, experienced and heard.

Loud and clear for us all to hear.

Experience me not.

Instead, read me back out loud.

Tell me what you think?

Should I just keep writing down all my dreams, wishes, aspiration's here for you all to read loud and clear?

Or should I just stay home and get back to work on something else?

Hmmm.... the pondering's of a true writer, and their never-ending blocks to all time freedom, relief constraints.

Why do we write?

Because we have to.

We have to write to see ourselves through.

A calling or two, that just will not let us go.

In other words, a dream.

A dream of wonder, hope and glory.

A dream of unknown possibilities.

Seen and unseen.

A world full of mysticism, magic and wonder.

Also very real human emotions, feelings and turmoil.

And no matter what I do, night and day, I still see myself in all that I say.

I still see the hopeless wonder of a hopeful girl.

All just waiting for her big break!

Her big sigh of relief.

That she finally made something good enough to happen.

To be seen, witnessed and observed by her fellow writer peers.

Because reading others stories is nice and all, except I never see my own.

My own personal story of love, romance and adventure.

I guess that is why I continue to sit upon no throne.

No alone time once got in the way.

And now that I am alone, all I want to do is play.

So play I will.

And mightier still, I will.

Play as I write.

Play as I sing.

Play as I dance from all the unseen.

The unseen dreams, words and wishes that just want to come true.

If only for a moment, you would just read a poem or two.

Created by me.

Love you all so very much.

This poetry stuff is just too much.

I want to play they say!

I want to read!

I want!

I want!

I want!

My kids and I agree.

No matter who or what says they want what they want, no one gets away with anything or anyone, without a small smile or two.

Or maybe just a poem, to remember who is who.

Because from what I can see, there is nobody here, except me and you.

Just do what you do.

All day and all night.

And before long, all of your dreams, will come true.

One day a time.

Must have been the Dr. Who inside of me.

Because as far as I can see, you reading this, means the absolute world to me!

Thank You.

What do we do when we fall through the cracks?

We learn to avoid the crack, as in, don't step on a crack, or you'll break your mamas back!

Silly nursery rhymes that really do come true?

Maybe.

Depending on you.

And what you do when you fall into a crack or two!

Be You.

Always.

Cracks and all.

Because cracks makes all feel so very small, and yet, so very big at the same time.

We all learn to embrace our own rhythm and rhyme.

One moment, one day, at a time.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Crystal Lynn Schumacher

Stories are one way we relate to one another. I love and adore stories, poetry and film. Humanity is deep, and I am a well of words. Infinite Love ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.