Poets logo

Wet Dream

a song I wrote about missing someone

By Emily WilderPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I had a wet dream last night

Started with you holding me tight

In that hotel bed

With sandpaper sheets

It'd been so so long

Since I smelt your cologne

I forgot how much it turns me on

But even in my dreams

You just get up and leave

Just when things are getting good

And I wake up crying

My pillow is soaked

There's enough salty tears

To turn this bed into a boat

And I wish I could sail away

Oh but where would I go?

How come every time you visit me

It always ends up in a wet dream?

You had me up in the clouds

Then you dropped me back down

And yes - it hurts to fall from heaven

Was I too heavy to hold?

Was I too naive to know?

That you never bought me nothing

But fools gold

I still don't know why you left

It still doesn't make any sense

You ghosted me

And now my heart is haunted

And I wake up crying

My pillow is soaked

There's enough salty tears

To turn this bed into a boat

And I wish I could sail away

Oh but where would I go?

How come every time you visit me

It always ends up in a wet dream?

You always knew how to get in my head

Now you've set up camp and you've pitched a tent

And all my friends say

To shake you off

And I've tried self medication

I've tried to meditate on

What it is

That keeps me caught on you

And why I ...

Wake up crying

With my pillow soaked

And enough salty tears

To turn this bed into a boat

But I can't sail away

Oh cause I don;'t wanna go

Honestly I'd rather drown

Then let you go ...

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Emily Wilder

Hi, I'm Emily but you can call me Emmy. I am a singer songwriter/poet - I post bits of songs I've written and sometimes just straight up poems. Follow me on Instagram if you feel like it @emilywildermusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.