Poets logo

Westward

Will you follow me?

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I always knew I’d travel west

Pioneer woman, chasing the sun

You told me to be at my best

“Darling”

You told me before I left

You always knew that I’d be more

And I carry these letters unsent

Will you follow me?

Will you follow me westward?

Can you find me?

Can you make me feel any better?

Because I just don’t know

When I turn to go

Should I say "I’ll see you later"?

Or should I say "goodbye forever"?

Will you follow me?

Will you follow me westward?

Do you think I’ll ever say

All these words

Caught in my throat

Still unheard?

I dream of sunsets

And I’m driving this long road

My dreams are out west

I wish you’d beg me not to go

We stare into each other’s eyes

And fight what we won’t say

But can we cough up a “goodbye”

Or “’til another day”?

New horizons we each look toward

Can’t slow down keep moving forward

Our feelings packed, and still ignored

It’s true, I adore you

But I’m headed westward

Will you follow me?

Will you follow me westward?

Do you think I’ll ever say

All these words

Caught in my throat

Still unheard?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.