Poets logo

Werewolf's Lament

Filking the Werewolf

By Dennis A AppellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
In the Dragon Den

Werewolf's Lament

@ Dennis A. Appell, 1991

The Moon above is at its height

of luminosity this night.

My canines slowly start to lengthen.

My muscles quickly start to strengthen.

My eyes turn to cauldrons red with light

to see the night...

It is the Curse of Lupus.

I now have fur and I must howl.

The change of flesh is in my jowl.

Hair grows long upon my hackles.

I can't be held by any shackles.

A tail grows from the base of my arching spine -

it's long and fine...

It is the Curse of Lupus.

The taste for flesh is on my tongue.

The smell of blood fills up my lungs.

As I stalk the fields and streets for prey,

it is by Moonlight - not the light of day.

My victims, in terror, try to flee

away from me...

It is the Curse of Lupus.

I catch my victims and I feed

my hunger born of beastial need.

I can't control the urge inside me -

no lover's safe when they're beside me.

A single bite spreads the Curse on to someone new -

now they're one, too...

It is the Curse of Lupus.

Wolfsbane makes me shy away.

The wolfen form lasts 'till the day.

Come the morning, I might not remember

the bodies that last night I did dismember.

But the form of Silver kills me dead -

from paw to head...

It is the Curse of Lupus.

[This was written as a Filk song to Simon and Garfunel's "The Sounds of Silence"]

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Dennis A Appell

I live in Galesburg, Illinois. I am older than Sputnik by almost a full year and grew up on a farm.

I enjoy TTRPG, LARPing and tabletop games. The studio photo is of me for my DragonDen Studios Youtube channel supporting those hobbies.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomas2 years ago

    cool beans nice work keep it up. Love it.

  • [from the author]... This was written long, long ago - note copyright date! - and was supposed to be at the front of a series of filk songs honoring the "traditional monsters". [See also "The Vampire's Victim"] I happened across these in my files recently. This is the first published appearance of these works, anywhere! I hope you enjoy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.