Poets logo

Welcome to America

The White Men

By Abigail WadsworthPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I should not be afraid to live.

I should not be afraid to go outside because a white man might shoot me for the rainbow on my shirt “In the name of God.”

I shouldn’t be afraid every time my friends and family of color walk outside their home because a white man might shoot them “In the name of God.”

I should not be afraid to drop my brother off at school because a white man was told no “but I’m a nice guy.”

I should not be afraid to walk to my car because I am a female “but I’m a nice guy.”

My friends should not be afraid to practice their religion because a white man might shoot them “In the name of MY God.”

No one should be afraid to believe in something because of a white man “In the name of MY God.”

I should not be afraid of my shoulder showing because a white man thinks he has a right to my body “But I’m a good guy.”

I should not have to shout “No” multiple times for a white man to leave me alone “But I’m a good guy”

We should not be afraid to exist.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Wadsworth

Abigail Wadsworth is a first time writer who lives in Durand, Michigan. She has freshly graduated high school and stayed with the marching band as their photographer. She inspires to bring hope and adventure to her readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.