Poets logo

Weird is beautiful

The beauty in being yourself

By Britt Blomster Published 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Weird is beautiful
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Weird is beautiful

A deviation from the norm

No stranger to this label

I’ve made weird my art form

Weird is colorful

No shunning the name; I embrace

The color that I seep into this world

Content inside my own created space

Weird is a superpower.

I don’t subscribe to standard guidelines.

Zigging and zagging to my rhythm

I don’t stay between the lines.

Weird is inside

No shying away from blasting my inner light

I’m who I am, and I don’t filter my being.

Weird is me, and being me is what’s right.

There is power in being true to yourself.

I dance in the aisles. I don’t sit on the shelf.

I’ll be myself.

If it’s not ok, go somewhere else.

Weird is beautiful

And beautiful is weird.

Never block yourself from being true.

Color your world happy by being you

First published on Medium.

Co-written by my daughter, Alice

social commentary
9

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    I love this poem! It’s awesome that you and your daughter co-wrote it, too.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Aww, I love that you co-wrote this with your daughter :) And I love weird! This put a smile on my face, great work.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    gorgeous

  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    As a weirdo, I loved this! Yes!

  • I'd already read this and clapped on Medium. Great work from you and your daughter

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.