Poets logo

Weed Amongst The Roses.

For I Am Just A Weed In A World Full Of Roses.

By Erin ShieldsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6
Photo by Anastasia Zhenina from Pexels

I see the bountiful garden,

full of colourful roses,

forget me nots, apple trees,

what a beautiful scene.

Flourishing in the garden

they shine so bright.

but hidden amongst the trees

is the downtrodden weed.

It hides in the shade,

forgotten.

-

Picked by the gardener

the weeds are almost dead,

but one survived.

Hidden away in the dark,

shrivelled up and dying out.

Gasping for water

lacking light to grow.

Holding onto life

just trying to survive,

in a garden of beautiful flowers

and growing trees,

its hard to compete

when I'm just a lowly weed.

-

Undeserving of life

viewed by many as a waste.

Whilst the flowers bloom

adored by all, people flock for miles

to see the pretty flowers in gardens.

Whilst I am lonely, no one tends to me

I go through my life unseen.

And as much as I try,

it's hard to go against the grain -

to stand out and be different

in a world full of unwritten rules.

Set ideals about beauty,

those who don't match up killed.

Just survival of the fittest they say.

-

I am helped by none.

Those designed to protect all,

really only protect

those who meet their set ideals.

Their unwritten requirements,

and it doesn't matter how I feel

for I'm a weed and meet none

so nothing can be done.

I'm left to rot, looked down on by all

who can't wait to see me fall.

who'd take any chance they get

to pull me from my roots,

to aim the gun and shoot.

Whilst others watch but don't speak out,

so nothing changes

as we're killed before we can sprout.

-

I am just a weed amongst the roses,

born to die before I've even lived.

Condemned to a life struggling to survive,

I am a weed that's barely alive.

- Erin 15th October 2013

If you like my work you can also find me on Twitter & Ko-Fi links below:

https://ko-fi.com/erin

https://twitter.com/PoeticBeatss

All Copyrights belong to me do not use my work or re-post anywhere else without my permission.

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.