Poets logo

We’re So Much Stronger Than Society Believes.

You Can’t Buy What We Got.

By Erin ShieldsPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
6

I'll keep fighting

rising up -

we rise up.

*

you can't

buy what

I've got -

*

what we

have found.

Turn that

back around

*

hittin' it

pushing

fighting.

Never giving up.

*

Pushing back from

the darkness

tryin' to take my life.

*

And everyday

I get up

and rise.

*

I get up

cos I got wise.

You thought

I could be played.

*

You got it wrong

(wrong)

(wrong)

(wrong)

*

I'll keep fighting

rising up -

we rise up.

*

You can't

buy what

I've got -

*

resilience.

*

Yeah

hittin' harder

than any of you.

*

Walk a mile

in my head

tell me you'd survive.

*

No no no

you couldn't.

So don't stigmatise.

*

No no no

you won't leave me

demoralised.

*

I'm not

givin' up.

Not here.

Not tonight.

*

I've given

too much -

fought too long.

*

You can't

buy what

we've got.

*

We rise up.

We rise up

yeah, yeah,

*

we're risin'

right now -

walking dead.

*

Fighting.

Blinded -

the light's comin

right for us.

*

We don't run.

Nah we ain't

runnin' no more.

*

You can't buy

what we got.

- Erin 5th May 2020

If you like my work you can also find me on Twitter & Ko-Fi links below:

https://ko-fi.com/erin

https://twitter.com/PoeticBeatss

All Copyrights belong to me do not use my work or re-post anywhere else without my permission.

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.