Poets logo

Waxing+Waining Fear

An Alone Wolf’s Cry

By Isaac Haldeman Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Before I learned wholeness

I stayed avoiding the gibbous peak.

Why?

“I’m a lone wolf,” I say,

I lie.

Do the wild and free call their howls a cry?

An alone cry to that pale orb in the sky?

Heck no.

My crisp clear howls expects no return.

Other than an echo

This makes my stomach churn.

My cry is too often solitary.

Every other week its only companions

Are two guiltless pups that quite enjoy

the night sky’s pie.

I crave a partner.

That line is simply, true.

Not meant to impress.

At least not you.

Be a man!

Be strong!

You don’t need a woman!

Self reliance can go wrong.

Iconic image of a lonely silhouette.

“A potential logo, it’s taken I bet.”

It’s bad ass you poser, it’s a no go.

In reality, I propose to the moon for her tune

Her? Which her? They are everywhere!

She isn’t known to me yet.

“You sure?”

Oh, I’d know if we’d met.

Bet.

No answer to my calls.

All I hear are sounds of those already taken.

“Are you sure?”

All calls under lunar light are meant to be heard.

Meant to be returned.

No animal bellows just for fun.

You call yourself a wolf?

That’s false man speak.

You’re a man who’s love life’s bleak.

Don’t satisfy yourself with that bull.

I desire something rare.

To be packed up with another

who sings to the reflection of the sun.

In your dream she has brunette hair.

“You deserve what you seek.”

I know it.

The deep wells of love I bear show it.

I pray my alone howls that are

alternately three.

I beg God for them to become more.

The perfect number would be four.

Waxing

Waining

Predictable like the waves I see.

I hear a bit of wisdom on the breeze

“If wholeness is what you seek.

Be it, first.

Then maybe…

…those stained eyes will begin to peek.”

for me

by me

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Isaac Haldeman

NYC

I enjoy stories and telling them.

I’m the rich father before I am the poor artist.

Working on a novel. Why is it so hard?! ;)

@isaachaldeman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.