Poets logo

Waters of My Mind

Continuous Path of Healing

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
39
Waters of My Mind
Photo by Jonas Allert on Unsplash

*This song was on repeat as these words spilled out, so I thought I would share. It is longer than the poem itself, but please feel free to listen for a moment before you continue on. The video is beautiful if you feel like taking a pause to absorb. The rest of the album is amazing as well...

...

can i evolve beyond my thoughts

becoming more than i envision

can i correct mental myopia

is it simply a decision

...

what does it take to shed

all of the loops i self-impose

can i choose to weave new patterns

in the fabric of my soul

...

if i dig deep in the trenches

explore the shadows of my mind

through the process of excavation

is there healing i can find

...

can i rise above the doubt

can i assuage subjective pain

is there peace in the options menu

on the panel of my brain

...

if i plant my neural landscape with

positivity, introspection

with a prayerful heart and gratitude

can i weed out my abjection

...

if i keep digging upward

will the light touch my unrest

will it illuminate the sacred parts of me

i’ve subconsciously suppressed

...

awash with hope for a compass

a bestowment

to navigate uncharted waters of my mind

even still

i'll dive deep to find the treasures of each moment

surrendering to a process undefined

inspirationalsad poetrynature poetry
39

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Excellent questions, Kristen. Even better, your response.

  • I love the depth and contemplations in this poem. Beautiful work.

  • Profound. I sincerely enjoyed this ❤️🙏✨ I also think it’s exactly what I needed at exactly the right time 😉😇☺️ ps. Thank you for another beautiful song

  • kory salajka8 months ago

    “surrendering to a process undefined” mmm mmm. That really lands with me. So lovely. Heavy and light ✨

  • Zorica Malicabout a year ago

    Beautiful

  • Ahamed Thousifabout a year ago

    Beautiful Story!!

  • Simon Georgeabout a year ago

    Clever and relatable. Love the whole rythym of it.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, inspiring piece. Well done.

  • David Balyeatabout a year ago

    Thank you for writing this, it's both beautiful and incredibly thought provoking! Is there anything in particular that inspired your thought process here?

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    You had me at "Can I choose to weave new patterns / In the fabric of my soul?"

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Stunning. Love this line " Is there peace in the options on the panel of my brain" Beautiful. Hearted and subscribed ❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Amazing! 😍 Such important questions here, weaved together so beautifully 🥹❤️

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Hearted and subscribed! A deep and interesting piece !

  • This was so deep and thought provoking! Very beautifully written!

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Love this Kristen. Great job.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Loved reading this to the song . The format was so good The asking of questions the way it flowed very good! Should be a Top Story

  • Hamza Shafiqabout a year ago

    great job

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This is A-Level work. Great job!!! I have subscribed. https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist/

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    So so inspiring! So eloquent! Breathtaking! I am now a subscriber!

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    Beautiful! So, so highly relatable. I thought this line was immensely clever, as well, "Is there peace in the options menu On the panel of my brain?"

  • ARCabout a year ago

    YES! Yes to the poem! Yes to the question you are asking! The answer is YES! You 💯 can. ✨

  • Dylan about a year ago

    Amazing!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Love this, Kristen, and the music choice as well!! I’m gonna have that on repeat for awhile now ❤️

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I should clarify I listened to the music as I read the piece!

  • “Can I choose to weave new patterns in the fabric of my soul”? Beautiful writing ❤️✨😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.