Poets logo

Water

The elements of water brings great nostalgia

By Re'naijah PurvisPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Philadelphia PA. September, 2020.

Dedicated and ambitiously,

I search for you amongst towering trees, coarse gravel, and affable creatures.

A cool breeze whistles through my nose and fills my hoodie.

Competitively, I skip the stairs, and eagerly, I never fall.

Looking near and far, I search for familiarity.

Signs that stump me lead me to rely only on my intuition to guide me to you.

I am in search of you because I know that tranquility and serene awaits,

Comparable to my safe space back at home.

At last...

I spot you through the bushes, and hasten my step.

Trickling down the rivulet,

the murky waters pass through the cracks of the stones.

Stones are flat enough to skip, and slippery enough to lead you to break your hip.

The only noises are the flowing cascade,

the swaying trees in the breeze,

and the birds calling home to their families.

As you rush on your way,

drops ricochet and attach itself adhesively onto these same stones.

Solemnly and peacefully,

I listen for you out there.

Successfully, I effortlessly bound to the other side, reaching you.

Planted feet and knees bent,

I extend my limb and stretch my joints to touch you.

You are sassy as you splash off my fingertips in any way.

You are graceful as you run onto my palm,

And

You are especially cold,

Colder than the air that tickles my ears.

And

I am grateful that I have found you for you provide me with a knowingness.

I am blessed with your presence, you bring calmness to my spirit.

And

It reminds me of the rocky, chipped stairs that I compete against back home.

The dirt that sticks to the bottom of my platforms as I make way to get to the flat stones that allow me to get right up on you.

The Niagara Falls.

Except in these moments,

you are more motivated to pass down the stream,

for you are also a cascade in this form set out to collect with other rapids and descend into a graceful cataract.

The shallow reservoir creates much noise,

I have difficulty dividing it from the construction that is usually close by.

You are bossy as you splash onto my palm.

Yet I find peace in your ways.

In both conditions,

I find compatibility in the way that you complete me.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Re'naijah Purvis

Peace and Blessings to all who reads! I have joined this platform because I have always had a passion for writing since a child, where I would spend my time writing short stories just for fun. Join me on this adventure of creativity!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.