Poets logo

Water - a poem

A poem from the POV of water, the resource we take for granted.

By Tenia ParkerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

You selfish one.

You walk through me.

Drink me up, literally consume me for energy, for strength.

And when you return me I’m either salty or right out gross

You use me to cleanse your body then flush me down to the pipes, to the ground.

You selfish one.

Without me you’d be dirty and thirsty.

I go above and beyond for you, literally when it rains I hydrate your plants front above and even go beyond that by washing your car as well.

But, I never get a thank you, or a please.

I never received gratitude for you, as if I’m the selfish one.

Oh please!

Selfish one I do a lot, a lot to keep you comfortable in your day to day life.

And all I’m asking for is gratitude, appreciation.

Can you do that selfish one

Or just..someone.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Tenia Parker

sharing thoughts through poetry

Ig : ambivert.aura

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.