Poets logo

Wash & Dry

For the Last Time

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Wash & Dry
Photo by Photographer Frederik Trovatten on Unsplash

I’ve dragged myself through mud and muck by trudging across misfortunes,

Sometimes of my own accord, and other times through no fault of my own.

But I’ve always stopped to wipe my muddy feet on the welcome mats

Before passing through doorways with my heart on my sleeve.

And most days are the same, where I’ve been better and worse.

But I think things happen for a reason, and those contrasting states

Of disposition have given me the perspective to believe

One day, I can say I have removed my shoes

And washed

My clothes in someone else's home for the last time

Before peering from my window

At someone else’s clothes hung out on a line.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.