Poets logo

Walls Made of Glass

Suicide from the inside

By Amatsi WritesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

My walls are made of glass

I can see right through them

I can see the outside world

me, and it

separate, individual

The worlds hate has slowly burned my sand to glass

Layer by layer my walls grew

Now all I see is the backs of heads

Their faces turned away

They look away from me

look away from the pain

Away from the darkness

They don't see tears spilling down my cheeks

Or the water pooling at my feet

My tears fall silently

slowly filling up my box of glass

I reach out a hand, to touch

To feel the long lost warmth of humanity's embrace once again

But all my fingers meet is the icy kiss of glass

My fists pound against the walls now

Begging, beating

Hoping someone will hear, someone will see

The water rises faster now

It crawls up my neck

I tilt my head up

Screaming

Desperate i yell

My voice hoarse and rough

But still, they do not turn

They refuse to look

They refuse to break the glass

The water slips down my throat filling my lungs

Covering my head

Suddenly my screaming stops and every head turns

Their eyes probe and prod

Their heads turned only when mine can no longer

They spill tears together

astonished at the pain they refused to address

At the walls that they burned into place.

Tears drip drops down my cheeks

Water spilling over the brim

The leave salty tracks on my skin

The water reflects with crystal shimmer

They take with them on their path a million words

Gentle words that never passed through quivering lips

Sharp words that were thrown like daggers

Each drop saturated with raw pain, emotion, and sorrow

On feeble wings they begin to soar

reaching towards the bright light of the sun

Then the drops rise

Transformed by the heat of her rays,

They rise and fall with the turn of tomorrow.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amatsi Writes

I write because I can't speak when no one listens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.