Poets logo

Walking Through My Future

To Say "Hello In There" ... John Prine

By John KorkiePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Edna

Walking Thru My Future

The doors slide open at the old folks home

as I raise my mask to cover my nose-

I'm inside, now, and out of the rain,

wiping my glasses with my shirt again.

Wheelchairs, walkers, scooters and canes,

I get all the same smiles when they see me again.

this joint houses the more fortunate few-

the much better-off and the well-to-do.

The aisles are sometimes longer

than the words to any song-

They decorate their doorways

until their memory's packed and gone.

Wedding pictures, grandkids,

tables full of seasonal joy-

It's all a black-and-white movie

and I'm just a little boy.

I'm walking through my future,

yet it's like walking on the moon-

thinking about the ticking clock,

and my friends gone way too soon-

"Hello In There" I say with a smile,

when they open up that door-

and often, they don't realize,

I've been there many times before.

With just a bit of comfort,

to bring that little bit of joy-

I don't feel close to seventy,

because I'm still that little boy-

I share my smiles with strangers

although they see me every week-

I'm that glimpse outside their doorway

and my smile is theirs to keep.

The elevator's empty now,

and reality is much too real-

I'll sign out at the front desk,

and the thoughts are mine to feel.

The sunshine almost blinds me,

another second in these changing times,

dry leaves blow through those sliding doors-

as their memories blend with mine.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

John Korkie

Born in the coal region of Pennsylvania where I spent my early years questioning everything.

I've navigated my way through so many of life's terms that my head still spins.

Today, I just give with all I've got. Whether I have it or not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.