Poets logo

Walking the Eaves of Silence

Soul flowers

By Amy ChristiePublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

Resting my soul

between the words,

listening close

to heartbeats

and accords,

a tone lost in a whisper,

breeze sending love

from far,

lifetimes away,

here to touch,

a hug means so much more

than mere holding,

it binds your love

to my own,

it adds sunny desires.

***

If I should ever tread

too close to precipice,

I will always turn back,

look to embrace

the joy you gave me on that day

when we first hugged

and let hearts smile

at peace.

***

I walk looking for flowers,

I feel each petal leaving life,

caressing

last loving soul,

kindred wishes start flying,

I know not where to go,

your voice tells me the way,

it's dark, and fog surrounds

last trace of home,

last path back

into sunlit glow

and merry hide and seek.

***

Why did you go so far,

why can't I see your steps,

no trace tells of your passing,

do I still hear you

or is it just the wind

turned heartless in a moment,

uncaring steel,

not gone,

but changed

beyond all recognition

or forgiveness.

***

Seething goodbye,

the one I couldn't say,

the words left me without a sound,

I couldn't let go,

I still roam,

hoping to catch a glimpse,

a sign,

that all was worth the time,

the grace I shared

never got back,

soul half

taking apart

what was left

of my gratitude,

healing denied,

smile taken to dark forest.

***

Can I at least have laughter back,

my own,

as it was once,

before I held your hand,

before I knew what being let go meant,

soul shattered in the dust

learning to live again,

if only under fog

and twilight dream?

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Originally published on NewsBreak

Photo credit: Pexels

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.