Poets logo

Walking Song

I play along

By Ecarg NosivePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Turned off the music in my headphones

Don’t know exactly where I’m going

Already walked a mile but it feels wrong

Something in my head won’t get along

Even though it was my favorite song

The night sounds enticing with the silence alone

Cracks in the sidewalk gonna make me fall

Writing this memo that I’ll probably let go

Just like the people that love me the most

I’m hearing what they sing in my phone

Listening to all the wind against the leaves that are growing

Wondering if I’ll do the same or die at home

Or will I get the fuck away

On to brighter days

Well I don’t really know

It’s been so hard and I’m not even on my own

Not sure how to show that I appreciate what I have yet still want some more I

Don’t care what they say

But I also hope that they don’t

Judge me too much for not wanting to be a drone of society’s loan

It’s not for me I need something to show I am more than what I’ve ever been and more than my foes

Which are in my own brain

Eating me away like steak

Red meat on my plate

Not sure that I deserve this elegant of taste I

Am now on mile 2

And I started to think of you

Don’t know what else I can do

Other than wait out with patience or find a new love to distract from past things I’ll never get over it’s true I

Dwell too much for my own good

Thought I was over it and I should be but your in my dreams repeatedly I

Now I’m running away

Just like I do every fucking time

Like I did that night

No chance to even fight I

I’m over it and this walk

What happens if I just stop?

Find a home in this spot?

Don’t go farther or back to the start?

What if I end it all here?

Right where I belong

Not near anyone I did wrong

I’ve postponed my death for way too long

I think it’s time for a new song

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.