Poets logo

Waiting at Union Station

A True Story

By Jasmine MasonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sitting here regretting everything I did to land myself in this situation.

Why was I so blinded and naive to the hatred that came over me.

Having trust issues due to how my so called "family" has treated me.

Should I leave or keep sulking in my misery?

I've learned so much throughout this journey as far as what not to do.

The people who left me hanging with no one to run to.

No help in the middle of a city I don't even know the name of.

People keep coming up to me asking questions about all of the above,

But I can't tell if they are really concerned or just intrusive.

At this point I just want to cry.

I want to cry until I can no longer feel the pain burning inside me.

"How could they just leave?" I keep thinking.

No care in the world, that's what I see.

I feel like letting my cares go and drifting out to the sea.

Just let me be, let me be.

It's a struggle to stay focused on your goals.

So many distractions, it's starting to take a toll.

On my heart, my mind, my soul.

My soul, I know the wounds will heal,

But it's still disappoints me to know that no one will ever know or care how I feel.

Giving up is something that's been weighing on my shoulders,

But then I think of all the people that look up to me that I'd be disappointing. I already let enough people down.

I have the option to take the easier way out,

But I have to keep going.

I'm not just doing this for me,

I'm doing this for humanity.

To all the young people who feel like giving up, feeling like they have ran out of options. Look to art and your ancestors for guidance.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Mason

I am a freelancer. Mainly a Jill of all trades. I am a photographer, model, writer, and visual artist. I do a lot of promotional work for people. I also try to shed light on the truth, through my poems, photos, and articles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.