Poets logo

Waiting

First Date

By Lee HawkridgePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I waited

You promised that you'd come

My heart began to thrum

I waited

You still sight unseen

Nothing but a dream

I waited

Outside in the blazing heat

Sweating and squirming in my seat

I waited

For you to come along

All a promise from a song

I waited

With hitched and baited breath

That shook me too my depth

I waited

For the coming fated hour

Shoulders bracing not to cower

I waited

Wondering if you would be

The very thing I thought I'd need

I waited

With no recourse if you were not

All the things I'd dreamed and thought

I waited

And then you arrived

And it was anti-climatic

love poems
1

About the Creator

Lee Hawkridge

A young fantasy and science fiction author and occational poet native to the northeast of the United States of America

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.