Poets logo

villanelle to my youth

for the young girl I was

By Emma Sikes Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
villanelle to my youth
Photo by Diego Rosa on Unsplash

Though I’ve always been told to mind my tongue

I carry a wallet of stories in which

Boys will be boys, but girls will not be young

Age 12, when during jump rope I still sung

Was the first time a boy called me a bitch

Though I’ve always been told to mind my tongue

Age 14, when my opponent’s bat swung

But my coach was focused more on my legs than my pitch

Boys will be boys, but girls will not be young

Age 16, racing down at the sound of the doorbell rung

Only to be told that instead if speaking, my mouth has but one niche

Though I’ve always been told to mind my tongue

Age 18, dusty schoolbooks to which I once clung

I’ve only ever received praise for my body therefore it is my looks I must enrich

Boys will be boys, but girls will not be young

Now, age 20, all innocence having been stung

I am left with recollections and recounts to stitch

Though I’ve always been told to mind my tongue

Boys will be boys, but girls will not be young

art
Like

About the Creator

Emma Sikes

If you can’t blow them away with your brilliance, baffle them with your bs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.