Poets logo

Valley of Darkness

In the valley of darkness, I walk alone

By Britt Blomster Published 2 years ago 1 min read
8
Valley of Darkness
Photo by matthew Feeney on Unsplash

In the valley of darkness, I walk alone

Weighed down by sins, I must atone

Your voice echoes here, haunting me

Inside your arms, I felt safe and free

**********************************

What a beautiful crime

I’ve run out of time

Shadows follow, and I have no energy to run

Screaming for solace, begging for someone

****************************************

Talking to the moon to keep loneliness at bay

You feel close, but I know that you’re far away

Hanging by a thread

He left me for dead

*******************

My happiness is the source of my pain

Thunder rumbles as I wait for the rain

Dragging these chains, I walk and bleed

It’s torment to live without what you need

****************************************

In this dark valley, I’ll remain.

In the end, I’m alone again.

This poem first appeared on Medium.

social commentary
8

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.