Poets logo

Vacate.

lessons learned.

By Caylie HausmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
photo by caylie hausman

I need to start

leaving things when I know

I should,

instead of

letting Them leave

me in pieces.

They don’t get to

define

Me

when they leave.

It Is

Their Loss,

not

mine

that they could not

handle it. me.

I breathe ideas

and change, and look

like a certain

amount of comfort

on a late night,

like I will do The Work

even when you won’t–

because I Will.

and yet I’m still

standing here breathing

ideas alone; you shouldn’t

have gotten to leave me;

you and all your

big league whining,

playing me

for a fool,

waiting for me

to collapse in on myself

because you’re pitching at 90mph

every time and yet I didn’t.

I can withstand

a surprising amount

of your shit

before I even feel a thing

and that’s why

you got to leave me.

But I’ve learned not

to pick up habits

like you

because I no longer

wish to be taken

for granted,

I no longer wish to

prove myself after proving myself,

I no longer

wish to

be put through

the wringer on a daily basis.

I have found happiness in

the small things

that used to make my days

grueling. Making sure

to eat three meals,

a gold medalist in the water drinking category

(most days). I have found so

much outside of you, after

being told for so long

you were the only option, what I had

Make It Work and then you left me,

beserk.

Had to find

calm and peace,

it wasn’t that far off, especially

once you abandoned your place in my solar system.

watching the pieces fall into place,

more sure of my choices every day;

the sun is no longer

being blocked.

I am so glad you decided to leave me.

I am so happy I decided

to chase what I want and

not give a fuck what you think.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Caylie Hausman

Caylie Hausman is a multidisciplinary artist, designer and writer based in the U.S. Contact [email protected] for more information. Thank you for reading!

IG and TT: @cayliehausman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.