Poets logo

Vacancy

Observational imagery, with a distinct lackluster performance.

By S.W. Published 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Liquor store (Minneapolis)

The buzz of neon signs outside the store, as a bustling city washing me in an array of noise.

Strangers are kissing on the corner broken hearts making love to a sound so furious.

The distance rings of music and joy, and I long to be theirs. I began to walk my shoes steadily beating to the rhythm. I cinch up my backpack and move with force upon the streets.

Dislocated and estranged, a poor soul rolling through this life pondering the intricacies of love, death, and taxes.

I say goodbye, not to them; to me. I was once timid but now my verses sing of storied years of torrential misfortune.

A man whose wept like a child, a man whose ego held up by sticks, all that broken and left to its devices. Like a bench vise between my temple. A drill plunged into my forehead. A hurricane in a thimble.

I stop to breath this city in. The toxic lifestyles all conjured up a nice stench in the air. A perfect time to sit on the bench and watch the sullen drunks at the bar across the street. Wonder settled in. Where they belonged in this world and how they got to the state of vacancy...Vacancy. Had a nice ring to it, thought I might check in but I didn’t meet the criteria. I peel myself off the bench and kept at the night like without direction.

The lamppost had a buzz to it and the small insects fluttered around the light. It gave them purpose for the night, wish I had the same simplicity. What a dreadful life huh? Based solely upon the steady glow and deprived of such an artifact while they bounce around in the creeping darkness. Aimless. Depressing really, no mind to eat away at their own insignificance. Blissful.

I wish I knew this street but I am a bastard to this life and its infrastructure. A twisted man with a killer knack for nothing really. A bored boy who dreamt of the stars, stuck to this rock and robbed of his heart.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

S.W.

A poet by way of life. Words just came easy to me, though I may never write a bestseller. I just want you to feel understood. At the end of my work if we’re closer than when you started reading I’ve done my part.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.