Poets logo

Use your words

To paint me a rainbow

By Deb SimmondsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Use your words
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Use your words

to paint me a rainbow

Take a deep breath

Fill your breast with colours

Paint a scene for me using each and every shade

Use your words to paint me a rainbow.

Give me your softest blue

and make me feel it

Flash flames of scarlet red

and help me see it

Butter the sky with mellowed strokes

and lay with me beneath it

Roll a pen through indigo inks

and scribble the intense arc of your current chapter

Stamp through fields of violets

and teach me the dance steps to your song

Disappear into the vastest sea of green

and glide into my silk embrace

Climb a burnt orange leaved tree

and direct me through the woods

Use your words to paint me a rainbow

I want to understand every hue

To be brave enough open up a palette of my own

And paint a rainbow right back to you

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Deb Simmonds

Creative writer. Women led stories. Crime, dark comedy, lesfic novels and short stories. Poems when the mood takes me.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Julie Simmonds2 years ago

    Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.