Poets logo

Up the Stone Steps to Madness

"Take arrows for the innocent..."

By Quill Pensward Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The children shudder and teeth chatter

At maw, paw, and howling laughter

He who fears not would be the dafter

In the closet, under the bed

Under the floorboards, in my head

Cold as ice but far from dead

Alone I lie in a pool of dread

Alone, in stone, my throne, I embed

To hope the beast may never be fed

If you tear the seam and fray the thread

In terror, you will cry “behead behead”

Around you will point to pay in your stead

T’is surely true for this far you have lead

“No farther!” I said

At shroud closing to snuff out your light

Much you may do to fight

But forever shall you sleep this night

The children had it right

Though theirs is safety before even all my blight

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Quill Pensward

I write poetry and fantasy because I wish to write of all the unknown worlds, their strange circumstances, and the unlikely people chosen to live the story.

Instagram: emberhidearts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.