Poets logo

Unwilling Benefaction

Teen trash—I never fully explored the metaphor, I think I just liked the sound of "benefactor."

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

You have never claimed to be a benefactor of my will

But what does my will have to do with it anyway

The grass that grows between these chess pieces is out of my control

It's just there for you to smoke

And if a benign and gentle breeze

Meandered its way through the trees

My chess pieces would fall

And I would stand and watch

As you let the wind blow you away

And I wouldn't let you see

How much it bothered me

That I liked the way that wind would play

In our hair

Which wouldn't be hard, I guess, since you're no longer there

It's not your fault

For you never claimed to be a benefactor of my will

And it's not your fault

That I don't know how to play chess

And this world that spins beneath our feet

Knocking me off balance, rendering me obsolete

It has nothing to do with you

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.