Poets logo

Unwarranted Shame

Rainbow Tears

By Amanda OlejniczakPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1
Image found on Google

I wonder if it’d be easier if I cried rainbows

But instead I cry and the blackness from my mascara streams down my face

Like if shame had a color.

I stood across from my mother age 19 and tried to explain why I am crying without giving away my secret that I have kept tucked away since I was a tween

Then suddenly “Because I like her!” came out

I don’t think it sunk in quite like my eyes did when I was starving from an eating disorder

And to be honest it’s four years later, I have dated girls, and I still don’t think she believes it.

“I’m bi!” I shouted just the other day

“Are you even sure?” My mom questioned.

I am open about my sexuality but I still have to wonder:

If I cried rainbow tears would that make it more clear?

I am not straight and I hope some day that the weight of shame will be lifted

And I will be accepted

Not having to wonder if it’d make life easier for those around me if I could cry pretty rainbows to let them all know who I really am instead of making them wonder

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Amanda Olejniczak

I am a writer, poet, and proud advocate for mental health. Addtional content I create can be found on Instagram: @amanda_unfiltered or @amanda_unfiltered_poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.