Poets logo

Unskilled Deceiver

By Jason Morton

By Jason Ray Morton Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

Hit me and do I not hurt,

yet you don't know how much.

With each injury, my soul is burnt.

Burnt by the feel of evil's touch

***

Never knowing the things that I feel most,

the things to which people pretend.

Just hovering around like lost ghosts,

Fearing an unfortunate and unyielding end.

***

So hear no evil I pretend to thee,

knowing I hear all those hidden secrets.

Deaf I pretend to be,

acting as one not knowing your regrets.

***

I voice no anger over your choices made

because you must have had a reason.

Regret only that words that made me feel played,

what we had was made for every season.

***

Seeing it evident before my eyes

I pretended I was blind.

The things you do I can only despise,

and struggle to keep from being out of my mind.

***

We hear your evil no matter what you do,

yet we'll love your memory.

We're told about your evils, yes it's true

and it's all a part of your story.

***

Seeing your evils all around

our hearts scream out as in pain we moan.

Those like you, I have found

are why good men know they'll die alone.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.