Poets logo

Unreciprocated

October 2019

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Unreciprocated
Photo by Brendan Church on Unsplash

As much as I talk sometimes,

my prolonged silence may seem bizarre

I'm keeping my feelings to myself

so I don't make things more awkward than they are

I want to tell you how I feel

whisper sweet nothings in your ear

I can't find the words to express it fully,

so sometimes it comes out only as tears

I try hard to suppress it inside

and not let it all come pouring out

I think we could be something so much more,

but I understand you have your doubts

You want to be just friends,

so the depths of my love remain unstated

I have these feelings inside,

but they're unreciprocated

I try to fight these feelings,

but still they persist

When you're next to me, I want to hold your hand,

and it's so hard to resist

It's hard being near you

and not leaning in to steal a kiss

Because I want a best friend and lover

by my side to share my days with

I look at you and see my dreams

and can't help but fantasize

So sometimes I have to turn away

so you won't see the tears welling up in my eyes

You want to be just friends,

and it leaves me so frustrated

I have all these feelings inside,

but they're unreciprocated

I want to tell you, to confess every word

but instead I bite my tongue

I want to serenade you, profess it to the world,

but instead I keep my head hung

Sometimes you glance toward me, and I look away

so you don't catch me staring

Because if you looked too deep in my eyes,

the truth would be so glaring

It's hard to keep hidden these feelings

that I just want to proclaim

What I wouldn't do

if I could only make you feel the same

I'll try to back off and keep a safe distance

so my heartbreak is mitigated

Because I'm in love with you

but that love is unreciprocated

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.