Poets logo

Unlike My Father

(4/19/19)

By JPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

All my life I never knew my father; it was no secret but I held the pain is so well,

As time went on I couldn't help but feel like part of me was missing, as if I was only half a man.

I went on day by day not knowing the other half of me so within all the hatred I developed; I began to dwell,

Sinking into an abyss of self loathing & blinded by sadness within myself that was created merely by my own misconceptions of why my other half left me so for awhile that was the one thing I just couldn't understand.

But, now I'm a loving father of 2 & 1 on the way,

23 & only getting better as I research my true potential.

So I don't hold any misery or suffering in my heart as of today,

Because although my Father missed out; I'm being the best I can be for mine while providing love that is unconditional.

Their laughs & smiling faces are what I live for,

Even when times are hard my Angels will always come first & never become a bother.

So, maybe someday I'll meet my father but if not then I won't fret because I will continue my life & only soar,

I just hope my kids will always remember me after I'm gone because even In Death it won't stop me from being there for them; Unlike My Father.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

J

Gather around everyone... It's Storytime

& maybe, just maybe, one of these can help you through the day..

- Jacob

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.