Poets logo

Unique

Poem About Resisting Conformity

By Bonac simthPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Unique
Photo by Erick Chévez on Unsplash

The pressure to conform in our society is high, and it only drains people of their peace and strength. I've found true happiness in loving myself the way I am. (I do not bother about what people say as long as my Christian values are satisfied.) Do you dare to be different? This poem is for you.

Because I know who I am,

I'm at ease and free.

I can't be like others,

And they can't be me.

I've got fading scars,

An unusual physique,

But it all works together

To make me unique.

I've got hidden strengths,

Some obvious flaws.

Still I am who I am,

For better, for worse.

I don't have to blend in;

I won't live a lie.

I can't please everyone;

I won't even try.

Some call me proud;

Others stare at me in alarm.

But I'm not one to bother,

Because I know who I am.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Bonac simth

“Nature has given us all the pieces required to achieve exceptional wellness and health, but has left it to us to put these pieces together.”—Diane McLaren

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.