Poets logo

Under Waves

The ocean’s embrace

By Nora LisettePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I take a breath and go under. The wave washes over me. I feel the turmoil above my body and it catches my hair. Whipping strands up the wave twists them, spreading out before winding in. The wave is not gentle, yet the pulling on my scalp feels like a docile lover tugging me back enough to pleasure, not enough to dominate. I come up for a breath when it has passed and time my next dive, deeper this time. The wave is further away and the waters are calmer down here. I open my eyes to see the blue green waters which surround me, cradling me. Then shoot back to the surface. Slowing before my face breaks free if the water, allowing myself a seductive emergence into the sunlight. I smile. Light sparkles on the water around me. Time to go under again. And so I go, propelling myself down and out. Under the wave and then further out, past the break. I come up quickly before diving down to twist and turn myself through the ocean, welcoming it’s sweet caress. Up at the surface again I lay back, my legs floating up as I lift my pelvis. My eyes close. I smile. Coming up I look out to the horizon, the light shimmering across the lapping water as far as I can see. The ocean holds me in her passionate embrace.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.