Poets logo

Uncanny

Inspired by a genuine nightmare

By A. GonzálezPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Uncanny
Photo by Ioana Cristiana on Unsplash

I woke up to find my windows gone,

my front and back doors, too.

I was trapped inside this house,

what was I going to do?

I called for Mom, I called for Dad,

but neither seemed to be home.

I went downstairs to watch T.V.

I sat there all alone.

All the lights went out at once,

I hovered near the screen.

I tried to focus on the show,

hoping this was all a dream.

One, two, someone sang upstairs,

he’s awake again.

Three, four, the voice distorted,

hide and count to ten!

Heavy steps ran down the hall,

I ran for the closet door.

I hunkered down and began to count,

“One, two, three, four,”

It slithered down the oak wood stairs,

I felt like I could cry.

“-five, six, seven, eight,”

I quickly closed my eyes.

I could hear it right outside the door,

“-nine, ten!” I anxiously cried.

I heard the handle turn and then,

I reopened my eyes.

I was in my room again,

tucked tightly in my bed.

I had dreamed the entire thing,

it was all in my head!

I had a laugh and laid back down,

but something still felt wrong.

I looked over at my window,

and saw that it was gone.

surreal poetrychildrens poetry
4

About the Creator

A. González

I am a 24 y/o person from a small town in Oklahoma.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shadow Jamesabout a year ago

    Awesome! This is one, if not the best poem I've read in quite some time. I enjoyed it so much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.