Poets logo

Unbent and Unbroken

Reflections of Self

By Christine St.CroixPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
queen_ofthetribe

Out of the darkness I was born. Out of the womb I arrived unbent and unbroken. I walked a path down a road paved by others. I carried the scars marked by a path that cut me into the shape of someone I was not.

One day; I took a different road, a road paved by me and my desire to find my own true reflection of self. I did not look back except to see how far I had walked into the light of who I truely am.

On that day, I found myself at a crossroad of a different kind. It led me high up into the mountains of my troubled soul, so I may see all of life lay before me was at my feet.

I choose to go back into the darkness and face the demons there, that would try and hold me hostage to the old reality of self. I stood my ground and broke free of all that I am not and marked my own flesh with what makes me feel free.

I chose transformation of self, that is not marked by what others would think of me. That is not for me to carry upon my flesh and bones. What is mine is now owned by me, I am reborn.

Once again, I walk unbent and unbroken in the darkness of life. I choose life with the gratitude of a joyful heart, creating new possibilities before me. I am flesh and bone, wild and free.

I give the gift of my true self to those of you who do not wish me to be what I can not be. I am light made manifest in human form and can no longer be held in darkness.

I give, "My Utmost for Man's Highest" and say, "Love of my life, life that I so dearly love, be only what you desire to be on this spirital journey called life."

By Christine St.Croix 11/16/2016, p.5/20/22

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Christine St.Croix

Native American. Writer. "Cast the Shadows of your love upon me and don't look back. Don't walk out that door and into the wilds of unknowns and forget the love I hold in my heart for you, for us... "Evolve... A Transformational Journey."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.