Poets logo

Unanswered.

Lonely.

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Unanswered.
Photo by Pavan Trikutam on Unsplash

Unanswered

Lonely

I can’t take this anymore.

I’m putting my phone down.

Upside down.

Ringer off.

Please don’t all of you tell me we will make plans, then change yours.

I text.

I call.

Email, every way I know how to get your attention.

I feel like everyone avoids me like the plague, just because I can’t always hang.

Not the way they want.

Not the way I can.

That’s what hurts my feelings the most.

When most of you make plans and then bail.

You don’t reply,

So I will not comply.

I’m turning my phone off because you leave me on read.

Red with rage.

I have to stop and turn the page and realize it’s just me in this so-called life.

Everyone wonders why I’m so upset.

Just look at my text.

Didn’t respond, did you?

So please everyone, don’t tell me we are making plans.

Do something, together.

I just need human connection.

Okay not today, this day?

Which?

I’m lonely as fuck.

Plus no one seems to give a fuck.

I get everyone has lives, but you all make time for everyone else.

It’s messing with my mental health.

That's why I’m turning the page and turning myself and my phone over.

Signing off.

Over it.

I’ll do me.

You do you.

But, it feels like I’m losing all of you, every single one.

Please don’t make plans to do stuff and leave me with this empty feeling.

I’m chronically ill, I can hardly do anything.

It seems most can’t accept it, even me sometimes.

So here’s my phone,

Take it.

I’m turning off the lights, as it turns to night.

With unanswered messages, I get the hint.

I wish I could write more now, but honestly I’m spent.

-ej

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.