Poets logo

Two Young Men Discuss Their End

A poem

By Patrick CresslerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo taken by Phil Maxwell

Two young men discuss their end.

What a light topic between friends.

One fears death and what’s to come.

He says, “What if I die and become fish chum?

I need to spend my time wisely

And make everyone think of me highly.”

The second simply ignores death.

He says, “I’ll never meet my last breath.

I’m healthy as an ox and fit as a fiddle.

Death is just a silly philosophy riddle.”

Now, there was an old man sitting nearby.

He turns and says, “I don’t mean to pry…

But you both speak of death so foolishly,

I must not have heard you too clearly.”

“Do not fear death, for that’d be such a chore.

Your father, his father, and the father before

All saw their fate just the same.

It’s an inheritable gift everyone must claim.”

“But also don’t ignore your demise.

At any moment, death can come by surprise.

You should live with open eyes and a ready mind

To enjoy the beautiful moments God designed.”

The old man got up and left his chair.

And the young men remained, completely unaware

That death swiftly and peacefully passed them by,

With a lesson and a “see you later,” instead of a goodbye.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.