Poets logo

Two Jackasses

and me

By Cathy holmesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
22

The two jackasses didn’t give me much of a choice.

I couldn’t get away from them if I wanted to,

At least not in any way that’s legal.

Not that I would actually want to.

They both love me.

*

They would do anything for me if I needed them to,

But they would laugh mercilessly if I did something stupid.

Believe me. I am quite capable of being stupid,

And they are experts at being dicks about it.

Sometimes I want to strangle them.

*

They have both carried me when I was down,

And knocked me over when I got too high.

They would throw me to the wolves to teach me a lesson.

They would tear the wolf’s heart out to save me from pain.

They would protect me.

*

At times, both have wanted to strangle me.

I have sometimes hated one or the other.

But will always love and cherish them both.

They don’t give me a choice.

The two jackasses are my brothers.

inspirational
22

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    Oh man! I was reading this thinking about my two sons! LOL! I love the ending. Family's the best! 🥰

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    LOL, I loved this one!! The Princess and the Two Jackasses :) Ah, sibling love. As always, you are witty, unapologetic and fiercely loyal! Great one :)

  • Lol! Okay now it makes much more sense. If you're wondering if I imagined two donkeys doing all that, ummm, let's just say the answer rhymes with sass 😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.