Poets logo

tuning by ear

the first guitar I learned to play in childhood was sold by my brother for drug money

By Bryana FernPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
identity crisis by joyforachel

The first guitar I learned to play in childhood

an old blonde Yamaha, cheap and chipped

that my brother said he sold for drug money

was returned to me the other morning.

I found it on the front porch propped

against the black wood railing, its

plastic case bent and wearing strips

of duct tape residue as if it had been

repackaged from user to user

with the latches scuffed to erosion.

He spotted it in an antique shop

my brother said in the letter inside.

After 20 years free of drugs and dreams

it returned to him with one glance

and he hated me he said, as he’d bought

it back, like my lectures had never left him.

And as I sat on the steps and lifted it free

I wondered the many places it had been

and if I could hear the kinder words from

my brother if I stroked its strings again.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Bryana Fern

English major who never left college. Lover of Victorian novels, Ravenclaw, and Rivendell. Teaching applications at Hogwarts and Starfleet Academy still pending. Find me on Instagram @coffeenerd.writer and Twitter @bryanafern

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.