Poets logo

Tug of War

Is it love or just another lesson?

By Andre The FirstPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
Unsplash image by Kev Kombs

Enticing is the first word that comes to mind;

When I think of how you lure me in—

Pulling me closer to your flame,

Promising a warm embrace.

Your words sound so sweet,

As if they were a melody.

Your love gives me chills

Like I was Rue off the pills.

You leave me in a state of euphoria.

I’m mesmerized by the look in your eyes

And losing track of time

Because, with you, time flies.

I fear you’ll be the one

Because my attachment to you has begun.

I feel compelled to you

As if I was under a spell.

I am praying for protection

That your love won’t lead me to hell.

For it’s you that I crave

So much that I am scared you’ll show me to my grave.

Despite my fears,

I still let you draw me in,

Closer than I have ever been,

Feeling like a stranger in my own skin.

Your love makes me feel like I’m in a trance,

With your reassuring words and acts of romance.

Your love is like a fairytale dream

That I never want to end.

God forbid that I wake,

And realize I’m condemned,

To a reality where you don’t exist—

Damned to wander the sea alone in the mist.

In the end, You will either lead me to paradise or drown me in the ocean.

Leaving my love lost forever next to Poseidon,

For, in time, you will reveal if you are my mermaid or my siren!

love poems
8

About the Creator

Andre The First

Beginning my writing journey and hoping to inspire others to follow their dreams!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Miaabout a year ago

    Beautifully dark lyricisms and melodic use of words to describe the pain and longing of love. Keep up the good work

  • Brea Pettifordabout a year ago

    Perfectly put!! I love it 😍

  • Sonya Loveabout a year ago

    OMG.. I love, love, love this very relevant piece. I can totally identify with every word, in regards to my Life Experiences. Thank you so much for sharing. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.