Poets logo

tuesday personal news report

poetry, because there's already been too much tragedy this week

By Lauren (she/they)Published 3 years ago 2 min read
1
be with me for a couple minutes

Have to make decisions for me

The goal is to just start

Even though I’m not comfortable

Even though I don’t really like poetry

(I just say that).

I got vaccinated! My arm really hurts.

Just start

Even though I’m not comfortable

This is how it goes anyways

We were taught that if we do

X and Y,

Z will happen.

Usually

You get through x

Start y

And Life throws the rest of the alphabet at you again before

you can get to z

It’s fine

Planning is fake, success is fake

What am I capable of?

What a silly question

I will support anyone who supports liberation

I have faith, I don’t need to see the next step I don’t need to see the completion

I’d like to be a part of the transition

I’d like to be present

Not trapped in my mind

My pronouns are she

And they

I was and am socialized as a woman, I present feminine. She

For the people that won’t look past

When the people I love use “they” pronouns for me

It makes up for the “she” from everyone else

There was a shooting

and more police brutality (another Black man killed by the state)

I'd feel bad if I wrote and didn't mention it

Does that make it performative?

I don't think anyone is here to get educated on anti-racism (I am not the person to teach on that) but

Just wanted to note what's happened.

It's been over a year. There's a lot

happening

Hard to keep it all straight.

Our generation doesn't back down

We will try to face reality as it is, not as we want it to be

There are things wrong here that can't be wrong for much longer before they implode

Some of us are concerned that elements of the culture we've created may present future problems

Some of the elements of the reality we've created are currently presenting problems

Just not for you. You can ignore them

Throw yourself into work

fake planning

trying to get ahead

trying to keep your life straight

Enjoy! that's a world of make-believe

my family used to call me la-la

so "La La Land" has always been dear to my heart

But asking everyone around you

to make accommodations

changes to their reality

So that yours is more comfortable?

that's abusive

it's toxic

it can't go on

destroying the planet

destroying lives

You've ruined the meaning of love

You've taken the joy out of life

for an entire generation now

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Lauren (she/they)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.