Poets logo

Tricky bedfellows

sleeping in discomfort…

By AJ BirtPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Tricky bedfellows
Photo by elizabeth lies on Unsplash

As I hear his gentle breathing,

I slowly wake and get the feeling

That doom approaches, cold and raw

‘Oh god did I lock the front door?’

Silly brain, all doors are shut!

Yet my mind creates a ‘but’

Something is wrong, something is coming,

Is now the time that I should start running?

The world sleeps, the clock strikes three

The night goes on quite peacefully.

Anxiety eats my trembling brain

Whilst it awaits oncoming pain

Surely evil comes this night?

Why else am I consumed by fright?

My body cold, my toes are numb…

3AM is not much fun.’

Hang on - cold toes? You’re snug in bed!

oh god im cold cuz I’m already dead’

Just wait a second, check the scene.

What has been changed in this routine?

The pillows were fluffed, the bed was made

Down your weary head was laid

The boyfriend cuddled, then rolled away.

The same as any other day.

But wait! A change! He rolled too far

Until the duvet lies ajar

Your toes are cold because they’re free

This bedtime is all as it should be.

Anxiety quelled, I rest my head

And reclaim my cohabited bed

Sod the man, the duvet’s mine,

He’s been sleeping there just fine!’

We hear the couple’s peaceful breathing,

Lying close with lovestruck feeling.

For half an hour, peaceful, then:

The whole damn thing begins again!

love poems
3

About the Creator

AJ Birt

History nerd who likes to live in a fictional world... also pretty gay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.