Poets logo

Transposition

Goodbye, 2019

By Harydo NeonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Back into my house, folding my umbrella as I unlock my door

Keys in, twisted as the door opens giving a malodor

Roof of this mansion leaks as it is almost flooding

I sit on my couch like nothing is happening

I have Addiction on my left and Conscience on my right

Arguing over things that has left me sitting unconcerned

Suddenly my mind starts pacing rapidly

A vomit visits as my heart starts racing

Spent the last months in therapy trying to find me

It's been a tough journey, believe me

Digging up dirt from years behind me

While I stroll, day-to-day, like I know what I'm doing

Eyes open to the house I have been living in

Like an asylum abandoned for driving people too crazy

This is it? How could I not see this?

But it was too late,for the house had already claimed its victims

So i reach the phone trying to call for help

Addiction holds my hands and says "false alarm, don't be scared"

Conscience yelling at me to wake up and make the call

Suddenly I am leaning onto the wooden-soot-lined wall

Crying in corner as I stare at my place

Crying for the pain, hoodie over my face out of shame

Why don't I do anything other than cry and pout?

Why don't I give the big OG a big cry out?

Time knocks, as I approach to open

My clock ticks , 20 minutes past 8 pm

Time saying " Have you finally accepted you can't do it alone?"

Addiction at the corner hiding, first time I've ever seen him shiver

Yes, Time. I can't do it alone

So here, give me the adrenaline shots

I want to feel the strength to my bones

I want to clean up this house till the very last marble rock

Addiction screams out " You Can't Tame Me"

I'm tired of your voices and tired of you

As if somehow, to feel happiness, I have to answer to you

I lost myself, only alive because of the ring on my cell

But now the clock says time's up

I'm tired of carrying my mistakes around, like a garbage truck

I intend to put all effort to clean this house up

"Hello , is this Sam? From route 51"

And if you're reading this, I have got a story to tell

I'm loud in my poetry but silent alone in my shell

You could either carry the past on your shoulders

Or you could just ,breathe and start over

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Harydo Neon

I drain my thoughts through my pen. That's the only way I breathe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.