Poets logo

Tracks

A New Direction

By Kat Sung (they/them)Published 3 years ago 2 min read
11

From engine to caboose, the entirety of a train can be likened to that of our being. In life, there is a multitude of tracks we can take. Sometimes we meet other trains and follow their path for awhile. However, we possess the ability to make switches as we choose.

Sometimes, even when our engines make the conversion, there are other parts of our being that may still be lingering on previous paths; cars that hit a snag and get stuck in the past becoming separated from our present state. When we return to fully process our memories, we can dislodge the rest of our parts from the previous track we were on. Only once we are able to hear their concerns and resolve the issues that got them stuck in the first place, will we be able to reconnect these cars to the rest of the train and bring them along with us.

The following is a poem that was inspired by this metaphor. I had a moment of enlightenment where I realized I had the ability to switch which track I was on. However, trauma disconnected some of my cars and parts of me got stuck. It manifested as PTSD symptoms: depression, avoidance, panic attacks, hyper-vigilance, paranoia, intrusive thoughts, and nightmares. Through guided counseling, I was able to re-process these memories and finally free the parts of myself that experienced hurt, as well as the protective parts that kept my fight or flight response on at all times.

I hope you enjoy this poem! For others written by me, please view my Vocal profile located here.

***

Tracks

The time

is right

to switch

the vibe

*

For the train

of my

being

to find

the track

of forward

motion

*

To learn

to rely

on the

strength

of my

inner

trestle

*

To acknowledge

the rail

of eternal

peril

has

finally

ended

*

To release

all resistance

To find

liberation

through the

grace of

forgiveness

*

The time

is right

to ride

the vibe

*

For the train

of my

new horizon

has already

been set

in motion

***

Your support of my craft means the world to me! Please share, heart and tip as you feel called to do so. It brings me such great joy to know that my writing resonates with others - especially when life can feel so lonely. 💛🙏🏼

inspirational
11

About the Creator

Kat Sung (they/them)

The human experience through my personal lens.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jyme Pride2 years ago

    So very awesome, Kat! (She/They) all of you so wonderful in this self- expression, and self-disclosure. And so beautifully written from the heart and with clarity! I love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.