Poets logo

Toxic Masculinity by Lolly Vieira

A poem about domestic violence

By Lolly VieiraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Toxic Masculinity by Lolly Vieira
Photo by Valentin Salja on Unsplash

If you actually think that you

won in the end,

then I'd like to know

what exactly did you think that you’d win?

Are you somehow accomplished now?

I beg of you,

show me your power

if you truly can.

Does a raised fist bring you strength?

How many lives have you saved

with the red-hot fire

behind your self-loathing rage?

How many sleepless nights will it take

to find a moment of peace?

Your war waged on sanity

is a needless feat.

But wait, why are you so hollow now?

Wasn’t that your plan?

I once told you I loved you,

you said you were a man.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.