Poets logo

Total Lucid Recall

The Midnight Mission

By Tory ForestPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1
Total Lucid Recall
Photo by John Silliman on Unsplash

For once, a sliver of a dream I recall

My eyelids droop as my mind again seeks

that sweet night fantasy

Through a vast sea of those

unremembered nights I swim

Cresting waves of near vividness

Only to be kept from that longing clarity

come morning light

Day after day, but not on this night

This night I see that sea receded

Bringing forth a host of flora

Selfishly shrouding a brilliant ivory orb

And I glimpse a hazy picture through the

cracks in the trees

The full moon casting rays through the

sapphire drapes of my bedroom window

I succumb to the warm embrace of

lumbering slumber once again

A dark and sinister warehouse suddenly

surrounding me

I watch, I listen, I fear, it glistens

Dimly lit by fleeting golden accents

Creeping, weeping shadows shift through

the valley of crates I dwell among

Projections of those I was sent to find

whimpering in the light

I spy, I wait, my partner grits her teeth in

hate

The captors are all around us

The moment comes

In a flash we steal them and flee

Precious children, we lend them our trust

We can save them all, we have to try, we

must

Stealth and quietness, our allies tonight

We’re not found, thank god, or chance, or

fate, or dumb luck

A plane set for flight, saves us from our

desperate plight this night

The cargo we frantically smuggled

into has become a soaring prison

My partner and I, all nerves and strained

muscles

And something smells us

Can it be? Chimpanzees?

A veritable zoo inhabits the crew

Nowhere to go, nowhere to hide

We gather our courage and fight for our

lives

The struggle abounds, fierce and surreal

And my racing mind makes light of the

visceral fight

A book or a film? A Plane Of The Apes?

Apes On A Plane?

Run, bleed, scatter and flee

We grab parachutes and jump into the

night sky

Stars and the moon dazzle our escape

Furred primates jump after and pursue

with great haste

I open my eyes

The hell was that? A dream?

I never imagined I could glean such a

thing

I gaze at the moon through sapphire

drapes

I think to myself, was that really a dream

full of apes?

I roll over and sigh, holding onto the

vividness

That was certainly one for the ages

Heart pounding, nail biting

But, my sea of unremembered nights

awaits

Would I recall this dream more? After

tonight?

I have to admit, this one shined much

more bright

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Tory Forest

I recently discovered a deep passion for writing fiction. I’m currently working on my debut novel and hoping for a release sometime in 2023. Keep an eye out for new material.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.