Poets logo

Torn

Loving someone more than you love yourself.

By Jonny EvansPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Jonny

Torn

Jonny Evans

Sadness permeates this poignant regret

this hole in my heart this forlorn emptiness.

My love’s love elsewhere

sublime eyes flaming for another.

His heart lost to me

laid low by this inevitable impossibility.

Torn between care and need

joyous for his joy so proud of his courage.

Nurturing, holding, sustaining his stumbling soul

feeding strength, protective, fostering hopes.

Iron resolve, friendship paramount

my own love secondary.

His love put first inevitably

caring more for him than for myself.

A deep, joyous pride fills me

twinned with this stabbing, unbearable loss.

Love set aside for love.

Seeking solace in the gift.

Hoping for peace in the giving.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jonny Evans

I quit the job, sold the house, and am now at university studying to be a writer. I have things to express and hope that the words might have meaning for others. I'm single, queer and a cancer survivor. Feedback welcome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.