Poets logo

Tom Kha Tofu

(or the time I saw my lover's past in a bowl of soup at a Thai restaurant on N. Main St)

By Kayla Frances MurrayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I once scried Tom Hanks in a bowl of Tom Kha Tofu soup

& not in a ‘wow, that lemongrass is taking shape

of Tom Hanks’ kind eyes!’ kind of way,

or in a way that projected some flavor onto

the tofu;

No, my lover’s past was in that bowl,

wholesome, unkind personal truths & perceived failures,

accompanied by soggy mushrooms and

pleasurable shame

and his present, full-bodiment of a

‘bad actor’ at life, seeing-red

flecks of red curry paste

and

me seeing him in

rose-colored glasses

coconut milk skin

entwined together

a Sapporo and lime life

with one another

I wonder if God sees the future in the light reflections of the ocean

I wonder if I’m forgiven for confusing Tom Waits with Tom Hanks

I wonder if the shallots will make me cry if I dive into

what’s in front of me

Life’s a fucking fusion

of disappointment, love, acceptance,

and the unknown

So I dig my toes into the (lemon)grass because

this is what I think it means to be grounded

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Kayla Frances Murray

🙞 Southeastern US-based writer/poetess 🙜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.