Poets logo

Today

The diner 👉

By Charlotte Emma CePublished 3 years ago • 5 min read
6
Today
Photo by SpaceX on Unsplash

peas and mushrooms “

I sit down I am hungry.

Peas & mushrooms .

The menu was just that.

I look around .

Two men eating .

No face expression s.

A family but the end of the diner.

They to were eating .

A waitress appears- she has a grey hat & green dress.

Morning she whispers.

How do you like your mushrooms done.

I quickly try to fiddle with what looks like a menu.

She waits .

Almost suprised I was looking for something.

Ugh my throat was dry. As she had whispered , I whispered back.

I am just hungry & not sure.

She leaned forward so “you want a double helping mam?

I wanted to leave , but I just couldn’t, it was like a surreal atmosphere and me even clearing my throat seemed more unusual than it should.

I nodded .

She pulled her cap back & turned .

I had no menu no drink & the silence.was wavy.

I took the time to look around.

What had made me come in here anyway?

There were no pictures, the walls were clean at ma finish of , grey ? It looked another colour but grey close enough.

The waitress appeared, she seemed busy , it occurred, there was no smell of cooking.

There was simply nothing to look at.

I got my phone out at least to google or look at reviews.

No service?

Damn it !!! I had just got a load of data .

Now what???

Sit back and wait.

Time ticked , my phone at least had the time. Twenty two minutes I had been waiting..

Make up out , I rumaged mirror powder . My mirror had come loose & chipped round the bay of the case.

So wait thirty three minutes , I know exactly as nothing else to do but look at my phone clock,

Why was I still sitting in this place.

It even occurred I had been set up as a joke from my work colleague s & was being filmed as part of a joke TV show.

Finally Mrs mushroom appeared, I called her that as in my boredom she had almost. Started to look like one.

MUSHERS —— she announced .

A plate with mushrooms and one pea on it .

I started to giggle, this is definitely a. Joke. Now right!!! I gazed around. The men had disappeared & the family still looked intense in their food.

I picked up a fork eat one mushroom, they were pretty big & not over cooked. I could not sit there I could not give this anymore time.

I walked I didn’t pay , it was clear my mushrooms were still there as a glaring omission.

I walked down the route to work a tasty bakery huh yes will power down I got a bun & coffee.

I walked into work, waiting for the camera s to flash the joke s to start.. everyone was just doing there thing.

I sit down, they aren’t going to last much longer before howling with laughter .

An hour in .

Normality.

Silvia I say, is the joke still happening , am I looking weird that I haven’t told you all about this strange little diner.

She raised an eyebrow.

“What joke ,

I tell her I will mail her not to draw attention to my self.

She reads it .

Mail back “have you been drinking “

The office was busy , no new atmosphere, 2pm I realised I had not been filmed & was now just wanting to tell the story, I moved from desk to desk in my square unit .

The intrigue was full on,

I couldn’t remember the name of it, but I sure knew how to get there.

I will show you tomorrow, be hungry I laughed, three or four people agreed , it’s life changing I joked.

8am the time was set.

I watched tv , I costed up the stairs.. sleep .

Agh I slept through my alarm.. shower teeth make up, no time.. my phone ring s .

Hey Silvia I’m running late I won’t be long.

Ok she says I am just getting veggies from the market , see you in ten . I miss my bus or the bus missed me.

The phone ring s “ I missed my bus “

Ok , I am finished at market. Where is this cafe we can’t find it. Wait where you are I say.

The bus was stifling we packed like sardines.

Ping my stop .

I have one small block to walk,

Hey guys I shout it’s just there two shops along, they pause for a minute then walk on .

I catch up rippling with excitement.

Where is it? You sur you got the right street?

I turn in circles, it was here definitely definitely here .

I turn face on it was a small indoor store .

It was right here I wail .

Excuse me , I ask the store owner, where is the small grey cafe?

Not here he chuckled.

We stand there, they were all talking at me.

I wasn’t listening I just couldn’t work out my error.

The store owner re appeared, He grinned, nothing here sweetie, No ready made coffee either.

I just stood staring in my own bubble.

Only thing I have on offer today is mushrooms & frozen peas & I am sure that s not you

People would it for breakfast.

performance poetry
6

About the Creator

Charlotte Emma Ce

A new a few & the the unforgiving ivory tower

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.