Poets logo

Today, I have to say goodbye

A farewell to loved ones

By CyCyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
3
All designs are done by me by utilizing Canva Pro

Today, I have to say goodbye.

Oh, how you have grown

to be the person you needed to be.

I never knew that the time will come

when I get to see

how wonderful you’ll be.

Although I’ve always known in my heart

that this day would come,

I never was prepared for the tears

that would spill down to your cheeks

like a river that flows through the valleys

of forgotten sorrows.

But the sun is now setting

and the world is much quieter.

The birds are singing their melody

real low.

I can now smell the fields that were promised to me

a long time ago.

The earth is calling me

and I will answer humbly

if you must know.

Even when I’m no longer near,

the memories we shared will keep you company

until the day you’re alone no more

and the future seems brighter

and the present is much livelier

than the past you chose to remember.

So, today I must say goodbye.

Please don’t cry.

Just know that I love you with all my soul

and maybe one day we’ll meet again

in those fields that were promised to us

a long time ago.

Note from me:

Hi! Thank you for reading: Today, I have to say goodbye. I truly appreciate it. I hope you enjoyed reading it just as much as I did when I wrote it. Let me know in the comments what you think.

You can also connect with me on Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and follow my main series: Soul Exchange House of Trials at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/.

I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, leaving me a tip (so I can get even more caffeinated and pump out more stories), or giving your pledge (which is $2.99/month).

Anyhow, have a fabulous day, and if you want to get updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter on my website right here!

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • N.J. Gallegos 2 years ago

    You've melted my heart yet again! That was beautiful.

  • This was beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.