Poets logo

Today

I thought of you...

By EvePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

Today

There are so many reasons I do it. To be frank I don’t entirely know myself.

Today, I thought of you. I thought of all the adventures we went on. The long drives to the mountains, hiking, and laughing how we need to quit smoking. I thought of all the music we sang along to. I never thought then how odd it was. After all I was 22 and you were 36. I thought you were my best friend. I I felt so safe during our honest conversations about life and our pasts. Isn't that what friends do? How silly was I to think it wasn’t anything more... I was foolish.

You see I have a past, but I won’t tell you now... No I can’t tell you now. But maybe then you will understand one day if I do today.

Today I thought of you. I thought of the day we spent with our mutual friend. The drunken night and our a french fry fight. I thought of when you invited me out. I trusted you because you knew my best friend. I remember you picked me up and drove me to the bar where we met the others. None of them I knew, but I trusted you. We drank until the bar closed and we drank while they were driving, making a pit stop where I should've ran then. At your friends’ house…I thought of you. In the morning I woke up with a black eye and wearing someone else clothes. I found red vomit all over my room and house. Yet to this day I still don’t know what happened that night... everyone refuses to say what actually happened. That was 6 years ago now.

Nobody wants to know your truth. no one will listen, yet they watch drama films. People won’t accept reality, they'd rather feel through fiction. I rarely speak and when I do, no one can hear me. All I have is a page for you so you can decide if you want it to be fact or fiction... Whatever is easier to digest. Even if I had the approval, some sick validation, it won’t change anything, it won't change the truth.

Today, I thought of you... I saw you in the mirror. I decided today that I’m going to love you. I thought of all the wonderful things you’ve done. I thought of your son, your pride and joy, the immense love you hold within.

Today, I thought of you, I thought of all the tears, the anger and all of the ways to numb. I thought of the days you bled, and all the bottles of pills you have downed.

Then...

I thought of how loved you are. I thought of all the months spent in the hospital. I thought of all the hours you fight everyday...Despite what anyone says.

Today, I thought of you, I thought of all the times you wanted to die, and how happy that you’re alive.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Eve

Welcome to my page!

Most of my writing here consists of destruction, recovery and the in-between. I hope that these words will open the understanding of the psyche within.

CW; Abuse, Eating disorders, SA, Mental illness, Suggestive content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.